World Games 2017 welcomes Lacrosse

/, FIL/World Games 2017 welcomes Lacrosse

World Games 2017 welcomes Lacrosse

(CARBONDALE, PA) The International World Games Association has announced that the city of Wroclaw, Poland will be hosting the 2017 World Games.

The IWGA is responsible for promoting non-Olympic sports and are headquartered in Lausanne, Switzerland.

Frame Right

Lacrosse is one of five new disciplines at 2017 World Games.

One of the tasks of the host country, Poland, is to select 5 new disciplines to become part of the 37 that will compete at the games. Wroclaw has selected lacrosse to be one of these disciplines. The incorporation of lacrosse in the World Games, which is an IOC regulated event, takes the sport one step closer to inclusion in the Olympics. An appearance in Poland also will allow lacrosse to be introduced to many countries and people who have never seen or heard of the sport before. This will be a very exciting time for lacrosse.

The World Games is an international sports event which began in 1981 and takes place one year after the Summer Olympics. Their goal is to promote sports that are currently not part of the Olympic program. Lacrosse will join karate, archery, and squash in their bid to eventually become part of the Olympic Games. Taekwondo and the triathlon were added to the World Games platform before becoming Olympic sports.

The 2017 Wroclaw World Games will attract approximately 3,500 participants and more than 400,000 spectators.

Please contact Tom Hayes for further information:

2017 World Games article at IWGA website: 2017 Wroclaw
Visit the IWGA website at:

About the International World Games Association

Founded in 1981, the International World Games Association (IWGA) is a non-governmental and non-profit-making international organization constituted under Swiss law. Made up of International Sports Federations, it administers a quadrennial and multidisciplinary sports event, The World Games, which aspires to equal and exceed the importance of world championships organized by each federation individually.

The principal aim of the IWGA is to develop the popularity of the sports governed by its Member Federations, to improve their prominence through excellent sporting achievements, and to conserve all the traditional values of sport through The World Games.

Since its founding meeting in Seoul, Korea, IWGA membership increased from 12 to currently 33 International Sports Federations (IFs). For IFs to become a Member of the IWGA, their membership with SportAccord (formerly General Association of International Sports Federations – GAISF) is prerequisite. The IWGA is a member of SportAccord and represented on its Council. Another requirement is that the sports, or disciplines of sports, proposed by the federations for inclusion in The World Games are not currently on the program of the Games of the Olympiad.

In the year following The World Games, the IWGA General Meeting elects a seven-member Executive Committee to a term of four years. This board coordinates and supervises all matters related to The World Games on behalf of the Member IFs. The board’s tasks include making recommendations for the selection of suitable host cities and serving as the permanent liaison between the IWGA and the games’ organizers.

Part of the Olympic Movement
The International World Games Association is an organization recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). Affirming that IOC and IWGA share the same values of promoting physical and sporting activities for the well-being of society, the two organizations signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in 2000. In this MoU the IOC pledges to maintain its cooperation with the IWGA, to provide expertise and to help in the promotion of IWGA activities within the Olympic Movement. The IOC also grants its patronage to the hosts of The World Games and provides the Local Organizing Committees with technical assistance through its knowledge management programs.

The IWGA is aware of the importance for athletes and officials in all sports to participate in The World Games as nationally representative delegations. To achieve that, the IOC encourages all National Olympic Committee to support and assist their multi-sport delegation taking part in the event.

Frame Left

Jacques Rogge

IOC President Jacques Rogge
“By signing a cooperation agreement with the International World Games Association, the International Olympic Committee recognizes the important role The World Games play as a multi-sport event. In particular, this event provides participating athletes with the opportunity to join with their countrymen and countrywomen from other sports, in the Olympic spirit, and compete as part of a national team at the highest level.”

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently sanctions five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor). The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

Other key areas of responsibility of the Federation are the establishment of international rules of play and the promotion and development of all forms of lacrosse internationally.

FIL has 45 member nations and is a member of WADA.

Federation of International Lacrosse is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of Lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sport’s development throughout the world.

Lacrosse is recognized and played by all countries world-wide, and becomes an Olympic sport again.

By | 2017-04-21T14:54:40+00:00 January 27th, 2012|Development, FIL|Comments Off on World Games 2017 welcomes Lacrosse

About the Author:

FIL Admin manages the Federation of International Lacrosse website and regularly contributes posts and updates.