WILC 2015 Awards

/, World Events/WILC 2015 Awards

WILC 2015 Awards

(ONONDAGA NATION) During play at the 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships, the FIL Awards Committee were busy at work.

Throughout the 2015 WILC, the FIL Awards Committee observed play from all the tournament teams.

After the Gold Medal game on Sunday, won by Canada 12-8 over the Iroquois Nationals, the All-World team was announced.

2015 WILC MVP — Shawn Evans, Team Canada

Steve Stenersen, FIL Vice President, with Shawn Evans of Team Canada — the 2015 FIL World Indoor Lacrosse Championship Most Valuable Player. Photo: Coyote Magic Action Images

All-World Team

All World Team honors are awarded to the tournament’s most outstanding players by position, as determined by a majority vote of the Awards Committee, based on all games played within the World Championship including the finals.


#4 Lyle Thompson, Iroquois Nationals
#42 Mark Matthews, Canada


#77 Jeff Shattler, Iroquois Nationals


#79 Sid Smith, Iroquois Nationals
#16 Chris Corbell, Canada


#48 Matt Vinc, Canada

Most Valuable Player

#15 Shawn Evans, Canada

Native dancers

Native dancers perform during the Awards Ceremony and Buffalo Roast on Saturday evening.
Photo: Coyote Magic Action Images

At the Awards Ceremony and Buffalo Roast Social Event Saturday night, the FIL Awards Committee announced the selection of the President’s Team and the Spirit of Lacrosse Awards.

President’s Team

The President’s Team honors are awarded to the most outstanding players in all divisions except the blue (top) division.


#19 Chad Culp, Israel
#28 Stephen Keogh, Ireland


#34 Caleb Hall, Australia


#27 Adam Crystal, Israel
#37 Andrew McBride, Ireland


#1 Mike Cregan

President's Team

President’s Team honorees recieve their plaques Saturday night. Photo: Coyote Magic Action Images

Spirit of Lacrosse Awards

The Spirit of Lacrosse Award is presented to a person from each team (and tournament referees) who is very influential to their team’s success, but not often given credit. Each award recipient is selected for this honor by their own team.

Australia, Keith Nyberg
Canada, Johnny Mouradian
Czech Republic, Jim Veltman
England, Joe Darkins
Finland, Janne Pasanen
Germany, Simon Krause
Ireland, Michael Kennedy
Iroquois Nationals, Oren Lyons
Israel, Matthew Cherry
Serbia, Ivanko Cernak
Switzerland, Attila Troesch
Turkey, Michael Moir
USA, Jimmy Butler
Officials, Frank Lawrence (Graham Lester Spirit of Lacosse)

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently has 52 member nations and holds five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor.) The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

By | 2017-05-16T11:36:38+00:00 September 28th, 2015|Indoor, World Events|Comments Off on WILC 2015 Awards

About the Author:

FIL Admin manages the Federation of International Lacrosse website and regularly contributes posts and updates.