FIL Rathbones 2017 Women’s World Cup Schedule Released

/, World Events/FIL Rathbones 2017 Women’s World Cup Schedule Released

FIL Rathbones 2017 Women’s World Cup Schedule Released

Toronto, Ontario — The Official FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup playing schedule is now available. The 2017 FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup will take place between 12-22 July 2017 at Surrey Sports Park.


The seeding structure for the FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup has been calculated through use of placing positions from the 2013 World Cup in Canada. Nations who are playing in the World Cup for the first time have been placed based on previous results, geographic diversity and their 2016 European Championship placing position. The pools will play a round robin between the 12th and 18th July. The top placing teams from Pools B, C, D and E will play off to decide which 2 nations qualify to play in the Championship Division. As of the 19th July nations will proceed to play in the Championship Division (Teams 1-8), the Platinum Division (Teams 9-16) and the Diamond Division (Teams 17-25).

England will play rivals Wales on the 12th July directly after the opening ceremony at 6pm.

Plan your Rathbones World Cup around your teams game times by using the Official PLAYING SCHEDULE.

Ticket sales for the 2017 Rathbones World Cup are exceeding our expectations. We urge you to buy tickets as soon as possible to avoid disappointment.


—English Lacrosse Press Release

About English Lacrosse

English Lacrosse Association governs the sport of lacrosse in England. An amalgamation of the All England Women’s Lacrosse Association and the English Lacrosse Union in 1996 brought together the men’s and women’s governing bodies. Lacrosse is now governed as one sport, with 2 codes (Men’s and Women’s Lacrosse). The English Lacrosse Association is strategically directed by an Executive Board. In 2012 the first 10 year strategy for the sport was released by the English Lacrosse Executive Board.

English Lacrosse 10 Year Strategy

English Lacrosse employs a central staff of 21, and sponsors in excess of 100 American coaches every year.

English Lacrosse is a Sport England recognised governing body. The sport receives a funding grant from Sport England, every 4 years based on the strength of a Whole Sport Plan.

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently has 56 member nations and holds five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor.) The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

By | 2017-05-13T10:40:01+00:00 March 6th, 2017|Women, World Events|Comments Off on FIL Rathbones 2017 Women’s World Cup Schedule Released

About the Author:

FIL Admin manages the Federation of International Lacrosse website and regularly contributes posts and updates.