Canada Wins Indoor Worlds

//Canada Wins Indoor Worlds

Canada Wins Indoor Worlds

(CBC SPORTS | Prague, Czech Republic) Goaltender Matt Vinc made 23 saves and was named the game’s most valuable player as Canada beat the Iroquois Nationals 13-6 on Saturday to win the world indoor lacrosse championship.

Jordan Hall, Dan Dawson, Shawn Evans, Josh Sanderson and Rhys Duch scored two goals each for Canada, while Brodie Merrill, Colin Doyle and John Grant Jr. added single goals.

Frame Right

Team Captain Colin Doyle helped lead Canada to its third straight World Indoor Lacrosse gold medal.

“It feels good to win the gold. We earned it. We were a great team. There’s no doubt about that. Our roster was stacked with talent. This was a team that came here for a purpose and was focused and driven. It was an unbelievable experience with these guys.”
—Colin Doyle, Team Canada Captain

Canada improved to 17-0 in world championship indoor play, having won the inaugural tournament in 2003 in southern Ontario and again in 2007 in Halifax.

“It feels good to win the gold,” said Doyle, Canada’s captain for the tournament. “We earned it. We were a great team. There’s no doubt about that. Our roster was stacked with talent. This was a team that came here for a purpose and was focused and driven.

“It was an unbelievable experience with these guys.”

Cory Bomberry scored twice for the Iroquois, while Dean Hill, Roger Vyse, Jeff Shattler and Cody Jamieson once each. The Nationals won silver for the third straight time.

The Iroquois’ starting goaltender Mike Thompson had to be replaced by Angus Goodleaf after being injured in the second quarter. Thompson made five saves, followed by Goodleaf’s 19 stops.

Shattler is from Edmonton and Vyse is from Hagersville, Ont. Bomberry, Hill and Jamieson are all from the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory in Ontario. Goodleaf is from the Kahnawake Mohawk Territory in Quebec.

FIL 2011 World Indoor Championship – Gold Medal Game

Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Total
Canada 2 7 3 1 13
Iroquois Nationals 1 1 2 2 6

Earlier, the United States took the bronze medal with a 16-7 win over the host Czech Republic.

Casey Powell, Drew Westervelt, Sean Morris and Bill McGlone scored three goals each for the Americans. Brian Langtry added two goals and Kevin Buchanan and Brendan Mundorf had one each.

Powell was named the tournament MVP for his performance throughout the event.

Jamie Plunkett of Peterborough, Ont., led the Czechs with three goals before he was ejected for dropping his gloves and punching Jack Reid with seven minutes left to play. Petr Poupe scored twice and Jiri Kostal and Radek Skala once each.

It’s been an eye-opening tournament for Plunkett, who was eligible to play for the home side based on residency requirements after playing professional hockey in the Czech Republic for the past three years.

“It’s a totally different experience for a lacrosse player,” said Plunkett, one of four Canadians on the Czech roster. “The crowd is singing, and if people watch soccer on TV maybe they can relate to that.

“No matter what the score is the crowd doesn’t give up on us. They support us 100 per cent and after the game they have banners thanking us. It’s an amazing experience.”

The other Canadians on the Czech side were starting goaltender Kurtis Wagar of Whitby, Ont., Kyle Ross of New Westminster, B.C., and Chet Koneczny of Owen Sound, Ont. All three play professionally.

—Original Article: The Canadian Press | Posted: May 28, 2011 4:28 PM ET
    All World Team honors are awarded to the the tournament’s most outstanding players by position.

    All World Team


    Dan Dawson-CAN
    Casey Powell-USA


    Cody Jamieson-IRQ


    Sid Smith-IRQ
    Kyle Rubisch-CAN


    Matt Vinc-CAN

    Outstanding Position Awards are presented to the top four players by position. The Most Valuable Player award is presented to the tournament’s best player.

    Outstanding Position Awards


    Dan Dawson-CAN


    Cody Jamieson-IRQ


    Sid Smith-IRQ


    Matt Vinc-CAN

    Most Valuable Player

    Casey Powell-USA

    The Spirit of Lacrosse Award is presented a person from each team (and tournament referees) who is very influential to their team’s success, but not often given credit.

    Spirit of Lacrosse Awards

    Australia-Jane Edwards
    Canada-Donald G. ‘Doc’ Hedges
    Czech Republic-Jindriska Valova
    England-Peter Dunits
    Ireland-Dan Leidl
    Iroquois-Denise Waterman
    Slovakia-Ivan Cernak
    USA-Jacques Bagley
    Officials-Stew Begg

    Team Photos

    Tournament Photos

    About the FIL

    The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently sanctions five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor). The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

    By | 2017-04-21T14:54:40+00:00 May 28th, 2011|Indoor|Comments Off on Canada Wins Indoor Worlds

    About the Author:

    FIL Admin manages the Federation of International Lacrosse website and regularly contributes posts and updates.