17 Jun 2014

The Netherlands Releases World Championship Roster

The Netherlands Releases World Championship Roster

With less than four weeks till their opening game against China at the 2014 World Lacrosse Championships in Denver, CO. The Netherlands has released its roster.

Helmed by head coach Neal Powless (Nazareth) and returning asistant-coach Ryan Demorest (Limestone), the Netherlands has added William Bjorness (Hartwick) and Jared Fotis (Amsterdam Lions) to the coaching staff. Powless and Bjorness have previously worked together, be it with Powless as a player on the 1994 Iroquious national team and Bjorness as one of the coaches.

The Orange return a number of veterans from previous championships, rounding them out with young and fresh talent. Kyle Hofstaedter, Rutger van Bennekum and Graham Bergsma have played together on the Orange squad since the 2008 European Championships held in Lahti, Finland, where the Orange secured second place, losing to England in the final. After an eight-year absence, Aaron Vanderhorst (2006 WC) also returns to bolster the Orange offense.

The Orange return standout netminder Rick van Niekerk, standout midfielders Jorik van Baal (2012 EC) and Rick van Kruchten (2010 WC, 2012 EC) and offensive powerhouse Scott Janssen (2012 EC).

See the full roster below:

G. Rick van Niekerk (Amsterdam Lions)
G. Jesse Morssinkhof (Utrecht Domstad Devils)
D. Rick Emondts (Amsterdam Lions)
D. Ryan Phillips (SUNY Plattsburgh)
D. Hendrik de Ruiter (Muhlenberg College)
D. Lionel van Est (Groningen Gladiators)
D. Justin Maarschalkerweerd (Anne Arundel Community College)
D. Maxwell Wasscher (MSOE Raiders)
M. Jorik van Baal (Utrecht Domstad Devils)
M. Rick van Kruchten (Amsterdam Lions)
M. Jelle Eric de Vries (Amsterdam Lions)
M. James van de Veerdonk (SUNY Oneonta)
M. Graham Bergsma (BHC Lacrosse)
M. Graham Rikhof (Groningen Gladiators)
M. Rutger van Bennekum (Amsterdam Lions)
M. Hielke-Martijn de Vries (Amsterdam Lions)
M. Erwin Lijklema (Utrecht Domstad Devils)
A. Ingmar Klienbannink (Delft Barons)
A. Jelle Tuinhout (Tilburg Titans)
A. Adrian Shaproski (Amsterdam Lions)
A. Scott Janssen (New Westminster Warlocks)
A. Aaron Vanderhorst (Nanaimo Timbermen)
A. Kyle Hofstaedter (Saint Joseph’s University)

Head Coach: Neal Powless
Assistant Coach: Ryan Demorest
Assistant Coach: William Bjorness
Assistant Coach: Jared Fotis
Athletics Trainer: Mary Stein
Team Manager: Mary Bergmann

For more information and to stay up to date, follow the team through Facebook (MDNTlax) and www.dutchnationalteam.nl/mdnt

—from Dutch Lacrosse Press Release

Photo Credit: “Jorik dodges 2″ by Dutch National Team Lacrosse © All rights reserved.


About Dutch Lacrosse

Ever since playing in its inaugural European Championship in 2004 in the city of Prague, Czech Republic, the Netherlands has strived to put their nation on the global lacrosse map and not just in individual tournaments, but also on a long-term basis. In 2013, a vision to 2028 has been laid down and the Development Programs for both the women’s and the men’s have been initiated. These are aimed at nurturing the level of coaching as well as pushing players to be the best and to take new knowledge back to their own teams in order to raise the competition and playing level within The Netherlands.

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently has 50 member nations and sanctions five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor.) The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

Share "The Netherlands Releases World Championship Roster" via

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

More in MEN
17 Jul 2016

US eight-peats with dramatic comeback over Canada

US eight-peats with dramatic comeback over CanadaCOQUITLAM, BC – The United States came back from a 6-0 deficit to defeat Canada 13-12 Saturday in front of a standing-room only crowd at the 2016 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Under-19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championships presented by Novus. ...

17 Jul 2016

Final Standings, Award Winners and Results

Final Standings, Award Winners and ResultsCOQUITLAM, BC – Final standings, award winners and results from the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) Under-19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championship at Percy Perry Stadium. FINAL STANDINGS 1. United States 2. Canada 3. Iroquois Nationals 4. Australia 5. England 6. Israel 7. Ireland 8. Germany 9. China 10. Scotland 11. Hong Kong 12. ...

Read   Comments are off
16 Jul 2016

Iroquois win bronze: England takes 5th

Iroquois win bronze: England takes 5thCOQUITLAM, BC – The Iroquois Nationals beat Australia to win their third consecutive bronze medal at the U19 level and England held off a very determined Israel squad to finish in fifth place Saturday at the 2016 Federation of International ...