24 Jul 2010

USA is Golden

http://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpghttp://filacrosse.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/2010_Men_WC_USA_wins5.jpgUSA is Golden

(MANCHESTER, UK) Team USA led Canada 8-4 at the half of the 2010 Lacrosse World Championship only to see Canada come back with four unanswered goals to tie the game at 8-8 at the end of the third quarter.

Team USA then went on to outscore Canada 4-2 in the 4th quarter to win their 9th World Championship, 12-10.

Paul Rabil and Michael Leveille each scored 3 goals to lead the U.S. John Grant Jr. led Canada with 3 goals and 1 assist.

FIL 2010 World Championship – Gold Medal Game

Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Total
USA 3 5 0 4 12
Canada 2 2 4 2 10
Goals: USA – Rabil 3, Leveille 3, Crotty 2, Mundorf 2, Powell, Striebel; CAN – Grant 3, Greer 2, Billings, Crowley, Huntley, Steenhuis, Williams.
Assists: USA – Crotty, Mundorf, Powell; CAN – Duch, Grant, Huntley, Small.
Saves: USA – Dougherty 15; CAN – Sanderson 10.
Faceoffs: USA – Smith 11-of-22, Peyser 0-of-1; CAN – Snider 12-of-22.

Game Photos

Game Highlights – Courtesy ILTV

2010 Men’s World Championship Awards

(FIL AWARDS COMMITTEE) During play in the 2010 World Championships held July 10-24 in Manchester, England, the FIL Awards Committee, chaired by John Phillips, were busy at work.

Throughout the 14 days of the World Championships, the FIL Awards Committee observed play from all the tournament teams.

At the Closing Ceremonies following the Gold medal game, the FIL Awards Committee announced various honors including the ALL WORLD TEAM. Award categories and awards are as follows:

All World Team honors are awarded to the the tournament’s most outstanding players by position.

All World Team


Brendan Mundorf-USA
John Grant-CAN
Mike Leveille-USA


Max Seibald-USA
Paul Rabil-USA
Leigh Perham-AUS


Brodie Merrill-CAN
Kyle Sweeney-USA
Ryan McClay-USA


Chris Sanderson-CAN

Tournament Best Awards are presented to the top four players by position. The Most Valuable Player award is presented to the tournament’s best player.

Best Players Awards

Best Attacker

John Grant-CAN

Best Midfielder

Paul Rabil-USA

Best Defender

Brodie Merrill-CAN

Best Goalie

Chris Sanderson-CAN

Most Valuable Player

Paul Rabil-USA

President’s Team honors are awarded to the most outstanding players in all divisions except the blue (top) division.

President’s Team

Graham Bergsma-NED
Jamie Gallagher-WAL
Brendan Healy-SCO
Ian Healy-SCO
Brian Hubschmann-CZE
Alex Jones-NED
Sten Jernudd-SWE
Dan Leidl-IRE
Jordan McBride-SCO
John Ryan-IRE

Honorable Mention Awards.

Spirit of Lacrosse Awards

Bermuda – Midi – Matt Restaino
Finland – Attackman – John Snellman
Wales – Defender – Rhodri Evans
Germany – Defender – David Pearson
Korea – Defender – SungWa Jo
Germany – Attackman – Jandro Brown
Bermuda – Defender – Bob Smith
Scotland – Defender – Nick Peeke-Vout
Germany – Goal – Thor Rosenberger
Scotland – Goal – Tim Higgins

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently sanctions five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor). The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

Share "USA is Golden" via

More in MEN
23 Jun 2016

Honig’s Named Referee Uniform Sponsor for FIL U19 Men’s Worlds

Honig’s Named Referee Uniform Sponsor for FIL U19 Men’s WorldsFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TORONTO, ONTARIO — The Federation of International Lacrosse is proud to announce Honig’s as the official uniform supplier for its referees at the FIL 2016 U19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championship to be held July 7-16 in ...

22 Jun 2016

Vision Wear Lacrosse Co. Provides FIL Officials Socks for U19 Men’s Worlds

Vision Wear Lacrosse Co. Provides FIL Officials Socks for U19 Men’s WorldsMatthew Tse, Owner and Founder of Vision Wear Lacrosse Co. FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TORONTO, ONTARIO — Vision Wear Lacrosse Co. has been selected as the official sock supplier for the Federation of International Lacrosse referees at its 2016 U19 Men’s ...

17 Jun 2016

FIL 2016 Men’s U19s Schedule UPDATE

FIL 2016 Men’s U19s Schedule UPDATE(TORONTO, ONTARIO) Updated June 15, 2016 The official tournament schedule for the world juniors of field lacrosse is now released, beginning with a showdown of rivals on July 7 between host Canada ...